With Product Workflow Templates you can set up tasks to keep you organized for ordering and fulfilling products. When you assign a product workflow template to a certain product, it will automatically show up in your job timeline if that product is booked by the client.

In this job, the client has booked a 12x12 album and the product workflow tasks show up at the bottom of the job timeline area. 

Creating a Product Workflow 

To get starting with your product workflow, navigate to the settings area, choose Workflow & Animation, and then Product Workflow Templates. 

Use the plus button icon to create a new template. 

You can also duplicate an existing template, archive templates you don't use anymore or edit an existing template. When you hover your mouse over an existing template these buttons will appear: 

Start by naming your product workflow. It helps to use a specific identifying name so it is easy to navigate to later. Then you will choose the products to assign this workflow to. You can choose a single or multiple products for each workflow. I've chosen a 20x20 and 36x40 canvas for this example. Each time a client books either of these items, the tasks created here will show up in their job timeline.  

Adding and Deleting Tasks

To create a new task, click the plus button in the product workflow area. Once a task is created it automatically saves so you can safely move on to adding the next task. 

To delete a task, select the task you wish to delete and use the red trash can icon on the top right side. 

Due Dates

You can choose to assign a due date for each task. The default timing is when the product is booked so if you don't change this setting the tasks will show up in the order you create them on your job timeline after a client books this product. 

If a client is pre-booking an item, like a wedding album, you can choose the due date to correspond with the Event rather than the booking. For example, if you chose a due date 30 days after the Event ends, your task would be due 30 days after the wedding is completed. 

You can choose a due date around when the product is booked or after it is booked. Or you can choose a date around the event so a task will be due before or after your shoot. 

Each task's due date will show up underneath the task name in the product workflow. 

Assigning a Task 

You can choose to assign a task to yourself or another employee. This step is optional and allows you to delegate tasks to your employees if you wish. Click on the "Assign" button at the top of the task creation field and then select the user you would like to assign the task to. Their name will now show at the top of the task field and this task will show up for them to complete. 

Subtasks

These are tasks associated with a main task. You can add them by writing in the subtask field and clicking the plus button icon on the right side. If you wish to delete a subtask, use the x button on the right side of the subtask. 

Automated Tasks 

Automated tasks are actions that take place automatically on their due date. You can automate emails or questionnaires to go out as a part of your product workflow templates. To set up an automated action use the plus button in the bottom of the task area (in the section that says "Generate an automatic workflow action by changing the options below") 

Choose whether you will send an email or questionnaire, then select a template for either option. Then select who this will go to, the most common option is the Primary Contact but there are other options to choose from as well. Then choose when you want this action to happen. If you choose "Is Due" for the timing it will follow the timing of the task it is associated with. So if the task is due 30 days after the event, this task will automate on that day as well. If you choose "Is Completed" for timing, the action will take place when you mark this task as completed.

In the example below, a Thank you note will be emailed to the primary contact when I mark the task of delivering the order to the client complete. If you put a little thought into setting up your email templates ahead of time, this can be a huge time savings for you on the communications you send out for every job, or in this case, product. 

Saving your template

When you're satisfied with your task flow, click the "save and activate" button on the bottom right side. This workflow will now show up for you each time these products are booked. Keep in mind that the workflow will only show up for products booked after it is created and will not show up retroactively for old orders.

Did this answer your question?